Glaswegian multi-instrumentalist trio Machines In Heaven have revealed details of their forthcoming second album, ‘Phenomenology’, which is set to drop on May 13th via Hot Gem Tunes.

The three-piece, comprised of Greg Hurst, Davey Gwynne and Connor Reid, have developed a distinct, experimental sound which incorporates elements of shoegaze, post-rock and melodic synth-pop, with their 2014 debut album ‘bordersbreakdown’ attracting critical acclaim from MTV, Clash and BBC Radio 1’s Ally McCrae.

Their second album, ‘Phenomenology’, sees the group further explore the outer reaches of their sound, featuring 12 psychedelic tracks which traverse everything from haunting ambience to fizzing electro. Leaked cut ‘20xx’ – a cosmic, spiralling journey which carries you deep into interstellar space – provides a tantalising taster, which is also reflected in the album’s artwork by Warp collaborator Konx-Om-pax.

Listen to ‘20xx’ below:

Machines In Heaven ‘Phenomenology’ is available May 13th via Hot Gem Tunes. Catch Machines In Heaven live as part of Vegan Connections at Stereo on April 23rd.

Machines In Heaven on Soundcloud
Machines In Heaven on Facebook
Machines In Heaven on Twitter